Back to newsroom

Nespresso invests CHF 160 million in the expansion of its Romont production center

Monday 13 July 2020

© Nestlé Nespresso

Nespresso has announced a CHF 160 million investment to expand its Romont production center to meet increasing consumer demand for its coffees. This expansion is expected to create 300 new jobs.

This sum is destined for the expansion of Nespresso’s production center in Romont (canton of Fribourg) in order to meet the growing consumer demand for its coffees and to support its international development in the years to come.

“These are the kind of announcements that feel good in times of crisis. Nespresso confirms that large international groups can produce competitively in our region. It’s also an investment that strengthens our region in the bio-economy field”, said Olivier Curty, State Councillor and Director of Economic Affairs and Employment of the canton of Fribourg.

The construction of the second production hall is set to start in June 2021. It will result in an augmented capacity of 10 new production lines dedicated to producing Nespresso coffees for the Vertuo and Professional ranges and the creation of 300 new direct jobs in the next 10 years while increasing third party employment and local and regional business development. The first new production lines are expected to be fully operational by June 2022.

Romont has become the reference for coffee

All Nespresso coffees distributed worldwide are produced in Switzerland. Over the past 10 years, in addition to ongoing investment in its business, Nespresso has invested CHF 700 million in its three Swiss-based production centers in the cantons of Vaud and Fribourg.

"Despite the challenging times we have all been living in, this strategic long term investment reconfirms Nespresso's continuous business success and leadership in the portioned coffee segment, which we pioneered back in 1986", said Guillaume Le Cunff, CEO of Nespresso. "It also demonstrates our continued commitment to our Swiss roots and to the long term economic development of the region and the country, with which we share values of quality, innovation and expertise."

Partager sur Twitter Partager sur Facebook Partager sur Whatsapp Partager sur LinkedIn Partager par mail
Back to newsroom

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. More informations

Nespresso a annoncé un investissement de 160 millions de francs pour agrandir son centre de production de Romont afin de répondre à la demande croissante pour ses cafés. Cette expansion devrait permettre la création de 300 nouveaux emplois.

Cette somme est destinée à l'agrandissement du centre de production de Nespresso à Romont (canton de Fribourg) afin de répondre à la demande croissante pour ses cafés et de soutenir son développement international dans les années à venir.

« C'est le genre d'annonces qui font du bien en temps de crise. Nespresso confirme que les grands groupes internationaux peuvent produire de manière compétitive dans notre région. C'est aussi un investissement qui renforce notre région dans le domaine de la bio-économie», a déclaré Olivier Curty, Conseiller d'Etat en charge de l'économie et de l'emploi du canton de Fribourg.

La construction de la deuxième halle de production devrait commencer en juin 2021. Elle permettra d'augmenter la production de 10 nouvelles lignes dédiées à la production des cafés Nespresso pour les gammes Vertuo et Professional et de créer 300 nouveaux emplois directs dans les 10 prochaines années tout en augmentant l'emploi de tiers et le développement des entreprises locales et régionales. Les premières nouvelles lignes de production devraient être pleinement opérationnelles d'ici juin 2022.

Romont est devenue une référence en matière de café

Tous les cafés Nespresso distribués dans le monde entier sont produits en Suisse. Au cours des dix dernières années, en plus des investissements permanents dans son activité, Nespresso a investi 700 millions de francs dans ses trois centres de production basés dans les cantons de Vaud et de Fribourg.

« Malgré les temps difficiles que nous avons tous traversés, cet investissement stratégique à long terme confirme le succès commercial continu de Nespresso et son leadership dans le segment du café en portions, dont nous sommes les pionniers depuis 1986 », a déclaré Guillaume Le Cunff, CEO de Nespresso. « Cela démontre également notre engagement continu envers nos racines suisses et envers le développement économique à long terme de la région et du pays, avec lesquels nous partageons des valeurs de qualité, d'innovation et d'expertise ».